sometimes
2008-02-29 carry on

my familia went to heidi's last night for a big fancy dinner on my mom's 60th. we ordered a bottle of wine, which is weird for my family. i can't remember ever ordering a bottle of wine while out with my family. but it was surprisingly nice. a riesling. i ordered a fingerling potato appetizer with raclette and chives, and a vegetarian bolognese for my main course. we also ordered a chocolate cake to split for dessert but it wasn't that yummy. i'd tell you what everyone else ordered too because it is interesting but i don't feel like getting mired in those details right at this moment. for their entree's though, everyone else got fish. i had eaten quite a bit of fish during my florida trip so i needed a fish break. tonight is my mom's big tango party! i'm excited. dan and i are performing a song we wrote for her, and there will be good food and friends. on a medical note, my dr prescribed me a more serious painkiller that is to replace all the ibuprofen i'm hopped up on and gave me a referral to a physical therapist. i'm not exactly sure how all this happened to my back. i think it's related to the surgery but it's not clear exactly what the cause is. anyway, so, i'll be on the up and up and at least with the drugs i'll be in less pain. which is good. when my mom picked me up from the airport the other night i was in tears from the pain because every step from the plane to the baggage claim and out the door was excruciating. like nothing i've ever experienced. i think it was particularly bad that night because i had to sit for 3 1/2 hours and my leg became numb and sort of had a dull pain in it through most of the flight. i kept trying to adjust and nothing really worked. it's not a good time for me to be scrunched into one place in one position for any length of time. that i can tell you for sure. it wasn't as bad on the way out to florida but it was a 7am flight and i conked out for a good chunk of it. anyway, i'm avoiding this project that i should really get a good start on today, so i will carry on with my day.

back & forth
*
recently...

Big life changing news - 2010-04-15
decided - 2010-04-06
Full month off - 2010-02-16
this will do - 2010-01-26
nyc new year - 2010-01-11