sometimes
2005-10-21 let the festivities begin

i had mac and cheese at noodles for lunch. it sounds mild but it's quite an intense meal. portion wise intense, remind me not to order the big portion next time.
i am so wiped out from working all week. i really have to put my workers cap back on. after all that time off i forgot about having to wake up in the 6am range and finishing a day in the 5pm range. it's really crazy stuff.
i still haven't figured out exactly why they want me to be here for such extended amounts of time but they pay me and that is the ultimate goal. aside from work experience. but i'm not getting all that much of that yet. my most recent task (yesterday) involved moving many old grants out of a cabinet, and refiling them with other grants, while having to rearrange the entire system. needless to say it was a big mess. and afterwards, i told my lady i was finished and she said she hoped it would take me longer. who knows why. but when i'm doing a project like that i'm very focussed and diligent because the sooner i get it all together the sooner i'm done with it and i can go back to sitting in front of my computer or a crossword puzzle, which is preferable, it turns out, to the kind of work they want to give me so far. but needless to say i still haven't met 1 of the 4 professors i work for and another one has been out of town and another one is going out of town so i guess it's understandable that the work they have for me might be limited right now. so we will have to see what week two might look like before we rush into anything rash.
in the meantime i've been given many projects by my old employment non-profit that can't hire me back right now (maybe in January) but have a ton of interesting work for me to do. so while i'm sitting here, i will do work for them, not for money, but in the hopes that they will hire me back, and let me do some more interesting things with them. i wouldn't have the same job that i left, but i wouldn't want that one anyway, cause it's with this lady i didn't like working with. but it would be development something or other. everything is a pretty big mish mash of duties in te small non-profit scene. so we'll see.
this weekend i will have many bloody mary's to celebrate a week well worked.

back & forth
*
recently...

Big life changing news - 2010-04-15
decided - 2010-04-06
Full month off - 2010-02-16
this will do - 2010-01-26
nyc new year - 2010-01-11